More musings on personal ads
Friday, Aug. 23, 2002

Ok, I admit it - I get some sick pleasure out of reading personal ads online. They crack me up. Most ads sound very, very similar. But then there are the ones that go up with mostly "I'll tell you later" or "I prefer not to say" chosed from the little pull down menus. I also enjoy the ones that get so specific as to what attributes their ideal mate should possess (female who is between 5'9" and 6'0", red hair, blue eyes, and slim/slender) that you know they have no chance of finding that person, especially online. The category of "body type" also amuses me, because the categories are open to interpretation. I don't recall the exact figure, but I think it's something like 60% of American women are a size 16 or above. So, accordingly, the "average" body type would be somewhere around a size 16, no? You know that's not what guys mean when they pick "average" in the list, though. Also, the "athletic" body type is another amusing one. Sumo wrestlers are athletes, aren't they? And how many football players with beer bellies can you think of?

As a "curvy round sex goddess" (phrase borrowed from Weetabix), I get slightly miffed at some of the wording I have seen. "I want a woman who takes care of herself" really means "no fat chicks". I take care of myself. I may be a curvy round sex goddess, but I am quite healthy, thankyouverymuch. I have excellent cholesterol and textbook blood pressure, etc.

Guys who talk about how open minded they are in their personal ad and then pick a specific ethnicity from the list are also a contradiction.

*********************************

It can't be a good sign when you start the day out dropping a Coke on yourself in the car on the way to work, can it?

Okay, that was a Texas thing. Around here, any carbonated beverage is called a "Coke", no matter what the brand. You could really want a Sprite, but you still order a Coke. Then they ask you what kind of Coke, and then you say Sprite. I know in other areas it's called soda, soda pop, or pop... am I missing any? Dammit, I want people to sign my guestbook! Tell me what it's called in your area of the country. Be sure to include where you're from. I plan on coding some sort of map to display results.

Bruja

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja