Truckers
Friday, Oct. 04, 2002

And now for something completely different... "Nothing turns me on like Hawaiian truckers in lederhosen." This is a sentence I once uttered at lunch in the university cafeteria, and I desperately wish I could remember the discussion leading up to this statement. It wasn't an out-of-the-complete-blue random quote, there was a "logical" conversation before this, I just don't remember.

Speaking of truckers... "How much DOES a segue weigh?"... a brief rant about the truckers I deal with at work. Well, some of them. DO NOT just drive up to the gate and honk. See the sign that says "All visitors must sign in"? Yes. This applies to you. You are not special. Some arrogant prick called me on his cell phone to let me know he was coming down the street, what he was driving, and that I should watch for him and open the gate for him when he got here. Now, I watched him drive up and pull thisclose to the gate. But did I open the gate? Hell no. He honked, and I watched him. He actually CALLED ME ON HIS CELL PHONE AGAIN and told me I should open the gate for him rather than walk the 20 feet into the office to sign in. I told him very sweetly that all visitors must sign in. Boy, was he pissed. I wasn't doing it to be a bitch, I was following instructions.

Also, it really bothers me when these truckers call me "hon" or "sweetheart". Sweetheart bothers me more, I guess because it takes more effort to say, and hon is just kinda ubiquitous in the South. Two words... "Steel Magnolias".

Bruja

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja