a laugh at the expense of my cat
Thursday, Oct. 10, 2002

I read somewhere that catnip affects about 50% of cats. My two meowzers would definitely be in the 50% it does affect. Catnip is in the mint family, and boy, Charlotte is nuts for peppermint and spearmint, too. I have made a catnip sachet for the kitties, and their preferred method of catnip interaction is to slobber all over the little cheesecloth bag and suck on it and rub it all over their heads. Pretty funny to watch. There is a somewhat crusty, lumpy, bright green bag somewhere in the house.

Well, this weekend at the Renaissance Festival, I bought lots of homemade soap. I bought a peppermint bar, and a spearmint bar, among others. These bars of soap came in cheesecloth bags much like the catnip sachet. (Can you guess where this is going yet?)

Charlotte pounced on the spearmint soap and started licking the bag. She soon dampened the bag sufficiently to make soap do what it does.... let me tell you, she was the picture of surprise. "mmmm.... mint.... loooove.... mmmmmm... PLEH! WHAT THE HELL IS THIS??? YUCK! but I must have the mint.... *lick lick* PLEH! GROSS!!!" etc. etc... The battle of catly ecstasy induced by mint against foul tastes was on.... and I laughed until I had tears running down my face. Indignant kitty shot me an evil look while she cavorted with the soap. Here's a picture of the lil furball. I know it's bad, I'll put up a better one soon. Guess who has a new Gold Membership?

Bruja

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja