Hopeful about the future
Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002

Yesterday, I had my final counseling session. For a few months, I met once a week with a counselor to help me get readjusted to everything life had thrown at me, and she said I made vast improvements, far more than most people in therapy ever do. I just needed a little nudge to get myself back on track. Here I am, about to move into my own apartment, I've been holding down a full time job, and I'm okay with that. School is not for me right now, and I am confident enough about that to not be uncomfortable when anyone asks me why I'm not in college. Confidence is the main theme here. I am more comfortable in dealing with my family, saying how I feel about things, and not as reluctant to speak my mind.

I have definite plans for the way things will be in the new apartment, as it is a new opportunity, a place where I have control over how things are. I am aware of the potential "warning signs" of my depression creeping back (the self-realized, specific behaviors, unique to me, that are indicators that I'm in trouble) and have already made plans for dealing with them if I recognize them coming back. I want to make a clean break from my old slapdash way of mucking through things and implement new routines and such, and I figure the new year and new living situation is a fantastic way to start. I plan to buy healthier food, because it's my apartment and I am the one buying the food, so I won't have groceries other people bought around to tempt me. There is an exercise room in the apartment complex, and I will make every effort to make use of it as often as I can.

I am excited about the possibilities and plans I have developed, and I can't wait to put them into action.

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja