Giving, not getting
Monday, Dec. 23, 2002

kitchenlogic's diary today inspired me to write about one of my most meaningful Christmas memories.

When I was in the 7th grade, my dad was at church one day and a lady was trying to get food from the food pantry for her kids for Christmas. My dad kinda adopted her family that Christmas and seeing the effect of what we did changed me forever.

This woman and her kids were living in a school bus with no electricity or running water. The morning we went to deliver coats and food and toys and blankets, rats had gotten into what little food they had. I don't remember the exact extent of everything my dad did for them, but he made a big difference in their lives.

This Christmas, my family is scaling wayyyy back on the amount of stuff we bought. We've all gotten to the point that we all said "Don't get me something just to GET me something. I have everything I need, and much, much more. I, in fact, have TOO MUCH JUNK."

I know my Christmas list was stuff I need for my new apartment, and even it included stuff I don't *NEED*, such as new dishes. I have dishes already, but they will be going to the Salvation Army or Purple Heart or some other organization. A lot of my clothing will be going to such places, too. I plan to get rid of a good deal of junk I don't need, but that other people desperately need.

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja