I'm a pincushion, better face the facts
Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003

Well, I spent about 5 hours in the doctor's office today, and apparently they think I'm a pincushion. I got stuck SIX, count 'em, SIX times. I got a blood sugar reading before I saw the nurse practitioner, and then consulted with her. Basically, I'm probably not diabetic, I'm "glucose intolerant". I get to eliminate all refined carbohydrates from my diet. Whee. Goodbye sugar, goodbye pasta, goodbye rice...

They then proceeded to draw blood, then made me drink a big glass of orange syrup that tasted like ultrasweet orange soda. They drew blood 4 more times at certain intervals throughout the next few hours. **Do not read the rest of this paragraph if you are squeamish about blood** I have one useful vein in the crook of my arm, so that got stuck twice. The rest was drawn from the back of my hands. I should have some lovely bruises later.

Know what makes the experience all the more fun? I had that godawful ZZ Top song "Pincushion" stuck in my head the whole time. Anyway, I won't have the results back until Monday, but that was my exciting morning and early afternoon.

Oh yeah, Valentine's Day sucks. That's not me being the bitter single person, it sucks, period. I'd say it if I had a boyfriend, too.

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja