Symphony
Thursday, Mar. 13, 2003

Speaking especially as a currently unemployed person, not that the unemployed part has any effect on my opinion, I think the members of the Houston Symphony have a lot of nerve to go on strike right now, especially considering the shitty economy. As I understand the situation, to reduce its deficit, the new policy instituted meant a 7.4% average pay cut and the strike was in protest of the cut.

I think it takes a lot of balls to go on strike in the current economic environment, ESPECIALLY when we're talking about a "nonproductive" job, for lack of a better word. I am not saying that we don't need entertainment in our lives, but with all the people who are in real danger of being laid off, or who have actually been laid off, they should be thankful they have jobs at all. With our current shitty economy, I'm sure ticket sales will be down because people are more concerned with buying the essentials... I'm sure you're not helping matters by looking like whiny, ungrateful children.

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja