Phones... grrrrrrrrrrrrr
Friday, Aug. 09, 2002

I think it's mainly because my new job consists mainly of answering the phone and phones were on my mind, but I just thought of something. Before I moved back home, I lived for over 6 months without a phone line. SIX MONTHS. I did not miss the phone at all. We didn't have a phone line because we were flat broke. Granted, I did have a cell phone for much of this time in case of an emergency, but not many people had the number. (Or if they did, they never called me, the bastards. Oh wait, most people who cared about me, it was long distance...) I could turn the phone off for long periods of time and voice mail would pick it up. Call screening!Yay! Not having a phone saved a lot of time. No telemarketers bothering me at dinnertime, not many "I'm just calling to BS with you for a few minutes", mostly blessed silence.

Stop to think about how much time out of your day the phone occupies. Most calls are short, about a minute or so, but if it interrupts what you're doing, it actually takes up more time than that. How many *truly* important calls do you get? A lot of my job also is to keep track of who is where, as in Bob telling me "I'm not going to be in my office for a while, I'm going to be in the warehouse" or Joe telling me "I'm out of the office, call my pager if you need me". When filling out paperwork, how many phone numbers and/or ways to contact you do most people ask for? It used to be just work and home phone numbers and addresses, now it's those PLUS fax number, pager number, cell phone number, email address....

I frequently have to hunt for my cell phone in the depths of my purse, or have to remember that it's charging...

Options options options! Call waiting, call forwarding, Caller ID, etc. Who needs all this junk? And don't get me started on the automated voice menus.

Oh yeah, another topic entirely... In the 6th months without phone service, I also had no TV. We had basic cable hooked up so we could have our cable modem, but we never bothered to hook a TV up to the cable. I don't watch much TV. My parents never had cable when I lived at home, so we had basically just ABC, CBS, NBC, and PBS. I think now we get FOX, UPN, and WB, too. I had cable in the dorm at SFA, but rarely turned it on. I would find myself watching all kinds of stupid crap (but that's what's on, isn't it?) instead of doing productive things like, oh, studying or cleaning (in actuality, sitting at the computer, but shhhh).

All content � 2001, 2002, 2003 .:. MightyBruja